Interested in starting a small business or growing your current one? There are plenty of resources here locally and at the state level that will help you find information so that you can learn about your competitor, justify your idea to a loan officer, or connect with an expert in your field.
Small Business
-
Christine F.
Web Resources
-
Points you to help right here in Bloomington. With their offices at 501 N. Morton St. Suite 106 (334-4070). Learn about planning, strategies, market research, financial reports, assessments, seminars and events, including online classes. This site will also address your FAQs and keep you up to date with what's going on via their blog.
-
Drill down to special areas for statistics, trends, news, and forecasts using these tools from the librarians who support the IU Kelley School of Business.
-
STATS Indiana focuses on data for actionable use by Hoosier government, business, education, nonprofits, health organizations and anyone needing to understand "how many, how much, how high or low" for their community. With nearly 1 million page views and more than 300,000 visits each year, STATS Indiana has won multiple awards from national organizations. Because of its unique state government/public university partnership and its wide-ranging data and tools, it is frequently cited as a "data jewel in Indiana's crown."
STATS Indiana has become Indiana's information utility and the heart of the Information for Indiana data dissemination channel. It provides convenient access to data for geographic areas in Indiana and across the nation because we think context and the ability to compare areas on all measures is crucial.
The original catalyst for a statewide, digitally accessible database began with the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business, but has received major support from the State of Indiana since the 1980s, becoming an outstanding example of the creative partnership that can occur between state agencies and state-funded research institutions.
Current support comes from the State of Indiana and the Indiana Department of Workforce Development, the Lilly Endowment, and Indiana University. With assistance from the Governor's office, STATS Indiana has added significantly to its databases and its ability to meet researchers' and policy analysts' need for better data to inform issues and decisions.
Databases
-
One of the most trusted sources of information and advice on consumer products and services. ConsumerReports.org does not accept outside advertising or free test samples. It has no agenda other than the interests of consumers, which certainly include the small business owners who need to purchase equipment and supplies to deliver their product and services in the most cost effective and efficient way.
-
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
-
INdiana SPectrum of Information REsources is a database of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles, many of them full-text. This tool can a be accessed by Indiana residents only. If you are having trouble using the database, visit the FAQ page or call us (812) 349-3228. Many industry and trade associations provide research data that will empower you to get the support you need in your business. While some openly share the data online, others may only publish the findings via their peer reviewed journals or trade magazines, which may only be available to those members paying their annual dues. Many of these trade journals are now available via INSPIRE, so you can get the information to boost your credibility with your financial backers as well as with your clients. Be sure to drill down to the special database just for business information: Business Source Premier, which aims to cover management, economics, finance, accounting, and marketing articles from business journals.
-
Find a business, resident, organization, government agency, church, nonprofit, health practitioner - all who might be based at home or not listed in the standard telephone books. These listings might lead you to know more about your potential clients or customers and your competition. Download demographic and sales information as well as contact information for direct mailing campaigns.
Local Resources
-
This local chapter of a regional network offers a great opportunity for networking and support for small business owners, managers, and professionals. BPE was founded in Indianapolis in 1991 to help those who are in career transition.
Books
-
Kylie Ofiu338.642 Ofi
Get started daily thinking with the entrepreneurial spirit with this fun and popular book.
-
Mike McKeever658.15224 Mck
From someone who is experienced and understands the standards of the well-thought-out, well-organized plan. This book is the 10th edition and references current laws, banking regulations, and resources.
-
Dan Sitarz346.7306 Sit
A popular title with our patrons; includes forms and CD-Rom.
-
Stephen L. Nelson657.9028 Nel
Take control of your finances-- and your business with QuickBooks. Use this popular business finance program to gain a clear view of your finances and keep your business in the black.
-
Michael Miller657.9042 Mil
Thinking about an alternative to managing your financial transactions? Why not exhaust all of your options and consider something that might be more approachable for your clients?
-
Peri H. Pakroo346.0652 Pak
Nolo Press is a popular publisher for both practical and legal advice and stays current with changes in both customer expectations and new regulations.
