Are you interested in immigation and citizenship? This subject guide will help you locate state and local organizations, materials held at MCPL, databases and web resources that will prepare you for becoming a United States citizen.
Immigration And Citizenship
Schell, DebbieEspanol Adult 340.082 Sch
Definición de familia -- Visitando los Estados Unidos -- Trabajar en los Estados Unidos -- Inmigración basada en el empleo -- Inmigración basándose en la familia -- Ciudadanía en Estados Unidos.
U.S Citizenship and Immigration ServicesVital 323.623 Civ
Booklet and audio CD include 100 civics (history and government) questions and answers to help prepare for the new naturalization test.
Hilgeman, Karen323.623 Mcg
McGraw-Hill's U.S. Citizenship Test gives you all the help you need in preparing for the new N-400 application. In addition to a comprehensive, fully-illustrated course book, a DVD provides four model interviews that help demystify the process and provide guidance in key language functions, such as asking for clarification and understanding nonverbal cues
This revision includes everything a candidate needs to know to become a US Citizen including: How to apply, How to prepare for and pass the exam, and how to have a successful interview. It features official USCIS questions and answers for lots of practice. Also includes a list of all of the English vocabulary words needed. Finally, users can access a FREE online customized diagnostic report to identify their strengths and areas for improvement.
Bray, Ilona342.082 Bra
Ready to move to the USA? Here's the insider's guide you need!
U.S. Immigration Made Easy covers every possible way to legally enter and live in the United States. The author explains how the immigration system really works, showing you how to qualify for:work visasstudent visasrefugee statusgreen cardscitizenshipand more. Step-by-step instructions show how to fill out and file forms and how to approach the enormous U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) bureaucracy.
Bray, Ilona342.082 Bra
An updated guide to obtaining U.S. residence is organized into customized chapters for different family relationships; includes the latest fees, contact information and procedural information; and provides up-to-date filled out sample forms to give readers an idea of how the application process works.
Find out how to work with U.S. officials, how to prepare and present the right documents, and what to expect every step of the way.
Supt. Of DocsVital 323.6 Lea
This resource is for immigrants who want to become American citizens and for Americans who want to learn more about important events in the history of the United States and the civics, government and culture of the USA.
Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interaction lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective.
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) is the federal agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States. They are a component of the Department of Homeland Security.
Some of the services they provide include:
- Citizenship (Includes the Related Naturalization Process) Individuals who wish to become U.S. citizens through naturalization submit their applications to USCIS. They determine eligibility, process the applications and, if approved, schedule the applicant for a ceremony to take the Oath of Allegiance. They also determine eligibility and provide documentation of U.S. citizenship for people who acquired or derived U.S. citizenship through their parents.
- Immigration of Family Members They manage the process that allows current permanent residents and U.S. citizens to bring close relatives to live and work in the United States. (See the “Family” link to the right.)
- Working in the U.S. They manage the process that allows individuals from other countries to work in the United States. Some of the opportunities are temporary, and some provide a path to a green card (permanent residence). (See the “Working in the U.S.” link to the right.)
- Verifying an Individual’s Legal Right to Work in the United States (E-Verify) They manage the system that allows participating employers to electronically verify the employment eligibility of their newly hired employees.
The Immigration Advocates Network (IAN) is a collaborative effort of leading immigrants' rights organizations designed to increase access to justice for low-income immigrants and strengthen the capacity of organizations serving them. IAN promotes more effective and efficient communication, collaboration, and services among immigration advocates and organizations by providing free, easily accessible and comprehensive online resources and tools. On this website you can search for immigration legal services providers by state, county, or detention facility. Only nonprofit organizations that provide free or low-cost immigration legal services are included in this directory. You can listen to podcasts, view webinars and join listserves on the topic of immigration. There is also a listing of non profit immigration jobs nationwide.
This resource will help guide immigrants who are going through the naturalization process or brand new United States citizens apply for a social security number and card. On the website you will find out how to apply for a social security card, the requirements for obtaining a social security card, and how the process works. The website also explains the benefits of social security for non-citizens and how legislation continues to affect social security for non-citizens. The entire website is available in Spanish.
This resource from the Department of Homeland Security provides information and links to topics including moving to the United States; immigration enforcement;becoming a U.S. citizen; local resources; explains benefits awarded to those who are entitled to stay in the United States either on a temporary or permanent basis and you will find current laws and legislation concerning immigration to the United States. You can also download immigration forms and make an appointment with an immigration officer online.
The Ombudsman is an independent, confidential and impartial resource for those going through the citizenship process. This office will help individuals and employers resolve issues or problems with U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services. Individuals can also find suggestions and tips on on what to expect when going through the naturalization process and how to make that process a bit easier.
This website is the official United States Visa information source. The website is all about U.S. visas for foreign citizens to travel to the U.S. Before traveling to the U.S., a citizen of a foreign country must generally obtain a nonimmigrant visa for temporary stay or an immigrant visa for permanent residence. The type of visa you will need is based on the purpose of your travel. You can download forms, find out fees and photograph requirements, and generally find everything you need to know about obtaining a visa for travel to the United States on this website.
Movies & Music
Civics and citizenship multimedia presentation a promise of freedom : an introduction to U.S. history and civics for immigrants : becoming a U.S. citizen : an overview of the naturalization processSupt. Of Docs. U.S. G.P.O.Vital 323.623 Civ
A Promise of Freedom is an inspriting short film for immigrant audiences which focuses on the history and founding of our nation and the important rights and responsibilities of U.S. citizenship. This short highlights the role of immigration in U.S. history. There is a discussion booklet included with the DVD that aims to encourage discussion and review the basic concepts of American democracy as outlined in the film.
The Immigrant Welcome Center of Indianapolis is a resource for the growing community of immigrant newcomers to Indianapolis. Through Natural Helpers and community partners, the Immigrant Welcome Center connects newcomers to the resources, services, and opportunities they need to fully participate in the economic, civic, social and cultural life of the community. If you have arrived recently in Indianapolis from your country of origin and need assistance in meeting your basic needs, please call Dulce Vega at (317) 808-2326 to be connected with a Natural Helper from your country of origin if possible. Para recibir ayuda en español, favor de llamar al numero (317) 808-2339.
Natural Helpers can help connect you with resources in Indianapolis for:
- Health care
- Legal services
- Social services
- Government agencies
- Public transportation
- Public education
- Public safety resources
- Housing resources
- Domestic violence advocates
- Financial aid
- Employment and training services
- And more