Learn how to find funding for your nonprofit using our subscription to the Foundation Center's database of grantmakers.
Financial support for the Foundation Center databases comes from the United Way of Monroe County. To learn more about nonprofit organization and development, contact the Non-profit Resource Center at the United Way: 812-334-8370.
The Foundation Center's database and the Library's Grant Collection can help grassroots groups, non-profit organizations, and individuals search for funding sources from companies and foundations. With these resources, researchers can also track trends, improve grant proposals, increase knowledge of fundraising, learn about finance, endowments, and planned giving.
These databases are available only inside the Main Library, 303 E. Kirkwood. For access, please see a staff member. If you want, bring in your laptop for access and download the records.
Foundation Center’s Online Professional (for NonProfits)
With an unprecedented level of detail on grant makers and their grants, Foundation Center Online Professional will give you the competitive advantage in finding funders fast. Only Foundation Center Online Professional lets you text-search across their unique database of 250,000+ recent 990s. And you'll have immediate access to exclusive funder portfolios filled with information that can help you work smarter, work faster. Foundation Center Online Professional also includes a database of over 100,000 grant makers and half a million grants
Foundation Center's Grants to Individuals
Quickly search through detailed descriptions of more than 6,000 foundation programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant seekers. This unique online database, the only one devoted exclusively to the needs of individuals, is convenient and easy to use! Within seconds you can generate your own list of prospective funder.
Foundation Center's Philanthropy IN/Sight
Experience this data visualization platform for global philanthropy. The Center developed this interactive mapping tool for grant makers, policymakers, researchers, academics, and others interested in the impact of philanthropy around the world today. Philanthropy In/Sight combines the Center's rich data on grant makers and their grants with familiar Google maps to tell the story of philanthropy through compelling visual portraits.
Based in Indianapolis, this leading academic center works to increase the understanding of philanthropy and improve its practice through research, teaching, public service and public affairs. Browse this site for statistics, trends, experts, resources and training materials and ideas, and events.
Your source to find and apply for federal grants. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is proud to be the managing partner for Grants.gov, an initiative that is having an unparalleled impact on the grant community. Grants.gov does not provide personal financial assistance. To learn where you may find personal help, check government benefits, student loans and small business start-up loans.
The Indiana Grantmakers Alliance (IGA) is a nonprofit membership association serving the state’s community, corporate, family, independent, operating, private and public foundations, as well as corporate giving programs. Our members hold 14.7 billion in assets and award 700 million in grants each year. IGA itself does not make grants.
This organization's mission is to strengthen nonprofits with capacity building opportunities to successfully carry out their missions. The Network is a regionally-based service providing affordable, accessible, and high quality public and private workshops, board retreats, and consultant referral. Services are designed to meet the needs of nonprofit organizations anywhere in the state. Topics range from cutting edge to basic content.
Indiana enjoys a rich tradition of Hoosiers working together to help themselves and their communities. In that spirit, the mission of the Office of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives is to: Connect organizations and communities to grants, services, and each other;Promote volunteerism and service to improve the lives of Hoosiers; Encourage public and private resources to seed and sustain innovative and high quality community and faith-based initiatives; and, Highlight the good works of individuals and their communities with best practices and innovative models.
Considered the "mothership" of information on private foundations, grantmakers, and philanthropy, the Foundation Center's mission is to "strengthen the social sector by advancing knowledge about philanthropy in the U.S. and around the world."
Journals & Magazines
Contains tips for the beginning board member, volunteer fundraiser, or professional development directors. Discusses trends and reality checks for grassroot organizations as well as 501c3 nonprofits. Back issues can be checked out and prove to be quick reads to refresh your mind with new ideas as well as best practices.
This is a trade journal for nonprofit professionals covering current topics and opinion on accountability, community engagement, evaluation, regulation, policy, organizational culture, and more. An industry standard, this magazine can be checked out.
Nathan E. Legaspi, editorIND 361.7 Gov
Peri H. Pakroo
The 4th edition from this popular press for legal issues, the book covers naming and structuring nonprofits, developing strategic plans, developing budgets and boards, fundraising, risk management and insurance, understanding contracts and agreements, marketing and publishing, and more.
Paul B. Firstenberg, Rick SchoffIND 658.048 Fir
Prepares managers for the new age of governance of nonprofits, their boards and executives, as well as their funders. Discusses the urgency nonprofits feel about securing competent development directors and the increasing competition for philanthropic support.
The nonprofit outcomes toolbox: a complete guide to program effectiveness, performance measurement, and resultsRobert M. Penna
An important step in asking for grant funding is to be ready to identify stages in the use of outcomes. This book shows you how to use specific facets of existing outcome models to improve performance and achieve meaningful results, which is what grantmakers will want to know. Shows how to identify and set meaningful, sustainable outcomes. Foreword by Ken Berger.