New Adult Nonfiction Books

New Arrivals Added To Our Adult Nonfiction Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Nonfiction emails

Title Date addedsort icon
The path of modern yoga - the history of an embodied spiritual practice by Goldberg, Elliott, 1943- author.

The path of modern yoga - the history of an embodied spiritual practice

"A history of yoga's transformation from sacred discipline to exercise program to embodied spiritual practice. Identifies the origin of exercise yoga as India's response to the mania for exercise sweeping the West in the early 20th century. Examines yoga's transformations through the lives and accomplishments of 11 key figures, including Sri Yogendra, K.V. Iyer, Louise Morgan, Krishnamacharya, Swami Sivananda, Indra Devi, and B.K.S. Iyengar. Draws on more than 10 years of research from rare prim

Aug 24, 2016
Sex and punishment - four thousand years of judging desire by Berkowitz, Eric.

Sex and punishment - four thousand years of judging desire

The 'raging' frenzy of the sex drive, to use Plato's phrase, has always defied control. However, that is not to say that every civilization has not tried, using its most powerful weapon: the Law. At any given point in history some forms of sex were condoned while others were punished mercilessly. Jump back or forward a century or two or cross a border and the harmless fun of one society becomes the gravest crime in another. This work tells the story of the struggle to regulate the most powerful

Aug 24, 2016
Dreamgirl - my life as a Supreme by Wilson, Mary, 1944-

Dreamgirl - my life as a Supreme

The Supremes story - the dramatic inside look at one of the most enduring show business legends, a real life enactment of the American dream.

Aug 24, 2016
Fighting to the end - the Pakistan Army's way of war by Fair, C. Christine, author.

Fighting to the end - the Pakistan Army's way of war

"Since Pakistan was founded in 1947, its army has dominated the state. The military establishment has locked the country in an enduring rivalry with India, with the primary aim of wresting Kashmir from it. To that end, Pakistan initiated three wars over Kashmir-in 1947, 1965, and 1999-and failed to win any of them. Today, the army continues to prosecute this dangerous policy by employing non-state actors under the security of its ever-expanding nuclear umbrella. It has sustained a proxy war in K

Aug 24, 2016
Your immortal reality - how to break the cycle of birth and death by Renard, Gary R.

Your immortal reality - how to break the cycle of birth and death

Aug 25, 2016
Understanding ECMAScript 6 - the definitive guide for JavaScript developers by Zakas, Nicholas C, author.

Understanding ECMAScript 6 - the definitive guide for JavaScript developers

Aug 25, 2016
The ultimate winter survival handbook by MacWelch, Tim, author.

The ultimate winter survival handbook

A guide to living through the worst of winter weather covers everything from perennial winter safety concerns to extreme winter emergencies, including how to winterize a car, drive on black ice, walk through a whiteout, and build a snow cave.

Aug 25, 2016
The tunnels - escapes under the Berlin Wall and the historic films the JFK White House tried to kill by Mitchell, Greg, 1947-

The tunnels - escapes under the Berlin Wall and the historic films the JFK White House tried to kill

A Cold War narrative of two attempts to rescue East Germans by tunneling beneath the Berlin Wall also describes the involvement of two U.S. television networks who sought to document the stories and the Kennedy administration's efforts to suppress both films.

Aug 25, 2016
Truevine - Two Brothers, a Kidnapping, and a Mother's Quest- A True Story of the Jim Crow South by Macy, Beth

Truevine - Two Brothers, a Kidnapping, and a Mother's Quest- A True Story of the Jim Crow South

Aug 25, 2016
Timelines of African-American history by Cowan, T.

Timelines of African-American history

Aug 25, 2016
A square meal - a culinary history of the Great Depression by Ziegelman, Jane, author.

A square meal - a culinary history of the Great Depression

Aug 25, 2016
Windows Sysinternals Administrators Reference by Russinovich, Mark/ Margosis, Aaron

Windows Sysinternals Administrators Reference

Aug 25, 2016
Windows 10 All-in-one for Dummies by Leonhard, Woody

Windows 10 All-in-one for Dummies

Aug 25, 2016
This modern love by Darbyshire, Will, 1993- author.

This modern love

"In the tradition of Post Secret and Other People's Love Letters, a crowdsourced compilation of letters, stories, and art work about the modern state of love and relationships, edited by rising filmmaker and beloved YouTube vlogger Will Darbyshire. "What would you say to your ex, without judgment?" This is the question filmmaker and vlogger Will Darbyshire posed to hundreds of thousands of his closest friends on YouTube. Seeking closure after a tough break-up, Will was driven to strike up an

Aug 25, 2016
This Chair Rocks - A Manifiesto Against Ageism by Applewhite, Ashton

This Chair Rocks - A Manifiesto Against Ageism

Aug 25, 2016
They're Playing Our Song - A Memoir by Sager, Carole Bayer

They're Playing Our Song - A Memoir

Aug 25, 2016
Tarot triumphs - using the tarot trumps for divination and inspiration by Gilchrist, Cherry, author.

Tarot triumphs - using the tarot trumps for divination and inspiration

Aug 25, 2016
Table manners - how to behave in the modern world and why bother by Tower, Jeremiah, author.

Table manners - how to behave in the modern world and why bother

"An authoritative and witty guide to modern table manners for all occasions by one of the world's most acclaimed chefs and restaurateurs Table Manners is an entertaining and practical guide to manners for everyone and every occasion. Whether you are a guest at a potluck or the host of a dinner party, a patron of your local bar or an invitee at a state dinner, this book tells you exactly how to behave: what to talk about, what to wear, how to eat. Jeremiah Tower has advice on everything: food al

Aug 25, 2016
A super upsetting cookbook about sandwiches by Kord, Tyler, author.

A super upsetting cookbook about sandwiches

The chef of a popular New York sandwich shop presents a collection of recipes for unique sandwich combinations, using meat, fish, veggie burgers, condiments, sauces, purees, and sides.

Aug 25, 2016
Uproot - travels in twenty-first-century music and digital culture by Clayton, Jace, author.

Uproot - travels in twenty-first-century music and digital culture

Aug 25, 2016