= Open access at the Main Library and Ellettsville Branch or at home with
a library card number.
= Accessible only at Main Library and Ellettsville Branch.
= Accessible anywhere without a library card.
NEW RESEARCH TOOLS (eBooks)—the Gale Virtual Reference Library℠
From Gale®, part of Cengage Learning, a world leader in e-research and educational publishing. Browse the following four categories or search the entire collection. ![]()
Science in Context
-- Comprehensive selection of science content. Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects from obesity to endangered species.
Financial Literacy
-- Practices adopted in the early years of adulthood can have dramatic effect on a person's quality of life, level of success, and age of retirement. This service conveys financial wisdom in terms that are easy to understand with suggestions that are easy to apply.
History Resource Center
-- Comprehensive online collection
that provides multicultural, global, and
research-based content that supports
today’s history research requirements.
It offers
access to reference content, academic and scholarly
journals, thousands of primary source
documents, images, and maps integrated
into a cross-searchable database.
Legal Resources
-- the most comprehensive index available to the legal literature of the English-speaking world. It provides subject, author, case name, and statute name access to over 700 journals from the major nations of the common-law tradition.
Ancestry
Library Edition
-- Genealogical information from 1.2 billion+ records in 3,000+ databases.
U.S. Federal Census from 1790, American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger
and Immigration Lists Index are included.
Associations
Unlimited
-- Contains information for approximately 460,000 international
and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations
in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.
Community Organizations
-- Search our database of organizations in Bloomington, Monroe
County and the surrounding communities. Compiled by MCPL staff.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
-- Provides extensive information about children's books, video and audio
recordings, and other media. Records includes official cataloging data,
subject terms, and annotations, plus information provided by various
Reading Measurement Programs. In addition, CLCD contains full-text reviews
of children's books. Search by genre, age-level recommendations and more.
ChiltonLibrary.com
-- ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site
ConsumerReports.org
-- ConsumerReports.org is one of the most trusted sources for information and advice on consumer products and services. ConsumerReports.org accepts no outside advertising, no free test samples, and has no agenda other than the interests of consumers.
Fold3.com
-- Fold3 (formerly Footnote.com) is a subscription website that features searchable original documents of special interest to genealogists and historians, providing users with an unaltered view of the events, places and people that shaped the American nation and the world. Browsers are invited to share, discuss, and collaborate on their discoveries with friends, family, and colleagues.
Foundation Center Online Professional -- With an unprecedented level of detail on grantmakers and their grants, Foundation Center Online Professional will give you the competitive advantage in finding funders fast. Only Foundation Center Online Professional lets you text-search across their unique database of 250,000+ recent 990s. And you'll have immediate access to exclusive funder portfolios filled with information that can help you work smarter, work faster. Foundation Center Online Professional also includes a database of 80,000 grantmakers and half a million grants. Only available inside the Main library in Bloomington. Ask staff for assistance.
Foundation Grants to Individuals -- Quickly search through detailed descriptions of more than 6,000 foundation programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. This unique online database, the only one devoted exclusively to the needs of individuals, is convenient and easy to use! Within seconds you can generate your own list of prospective funders. Only available inside the Main library in Bloomington. Ask staff for assistance.
GreenFILE
-- a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. mobile access
Grolier
Online - Multimedia Encyclopedia
-- Quick reference with rich media and news for middle school
and high school - Reduce search time across a wide variety of media with the
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia—the powerful database that contains
both resources for students and activities for teachers and librarians to
use with their students.
Grolier
Online - New Book of Knowledge
-- An online encyclopedia, complete with Wonder Questions,
facts and figures, projects and experiments, literary selections, and Internet
links to carefully evaluated related sites.
Grolier
Online - Lands and Peoples
-- A geography and current-events encyclopedia with the latest
information including articles, maps, photographs and charts on each and every
country in the world plus many other features.
Grolier
Online - America the Beautiful
-- State-by-State history and current events for elementary
and middle schools with over 1,400 colorful, easy-to-read, highly interactive
articles with over 2,300 of the most useful Web links—complete with
summaries. Also has timelines, games, an almanac and maps.
HeritageQuest
Online
-- Provides a collection of research materials for tracing
family lineage and American culture. Includes more than 25,000 genealogies,
local histories, primary source materials and genealogical and local history
serials. All materials are keyword searchable and can be downloaded and copied.
Also includes Census images for 1790-1930. Census records can be searched
by name, place of birth, age, and ethnicity.
Indiana
Room Collection & Searchable Resources
-- A wide variety of resources covering current and historical information
provided by the Indiana Room of the Monroe County Public Library
INSPIRE
-- INdiana SPectrum
of Information
REsources - A database of newspaper,
magazine and journal articles, many of them full-text.
INSPIRE can be accessed by Indiana residents who
have Internet access at school, home, in their
library or at their place of business. If you
are having trouble using INSPIRE from home or work,
visit the INSPIRE
Frequently Asked Questions page.
IUCAT
-- Holdings of the Indiana University Libraries. IUCAT may
be used by anyone.
Local
Newspaper Index (Bloomington HT)
-- An index to state and local news stories from
the Bloomington Herald-Times and the Herald-Telephone
for the years 1985-2005. More entries will be
added on a regular basis. Compiled by MCPL staff.
Mango Languages
-- Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective.
Mitchell1
OnDemand5
--
Mitchell 1 is the premier provider of automotive repair and estimating information
to the automotive industry. A single source look-up to locate any year, make,
model and product as it relates to a repair procedure, wiring diagram, spec,
parts and labor estimating, a TSB or factory recall.
National
Geographic Publications Index
-- This index contains records describing each NGS magazine
article, book, map, video, cd-rom, and more. From 1888 to date.
Novelist Plus
-- Fiction and non-fiction recommendations for a wide range of adult, teen
and child reading interests as well as book reviews, author read-alikes, theme-oriented
book lists, book discussion guides, book talks, and feature articles. mobile access
Obituary
Index (Bloomington HT)
-- Currently includes obituaries from old and current local newspapers
in Monroe County. Compiled by MCPL staff.
Reference
USA
-- The ReferenceUSA database contains detailed information
on more than 12 million U.S. businesses, non-profit organizations, government
agencies, and churches. In addition, the Residential database includes 102
million U.S. households.
SIRS
Knowledge Source: SIRS Researcher
-- SIRS Researcher® is a general reference database containing
thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic,
business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are
selected from 1,500 domestic and international publications and are indexed
primarily according to Library of Congress subject headings.
TumbleBookLibrary
-- TumbleBooks is an online collection of, animated, talking picture books, including some bilingual titles. Also features unabridged audiobooks, puzzles and games for children.
WorldCat
-- WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively
by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built
from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries,
it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
Contact
Us Monroe County Public Library, Monroe County, Indiana ° (812)349-3050
Updated:
December 2, 2011
° http://www.monroe.lib.in.us/researchtools.html